You are here

Media

Tuesday, November 25, 2014 - 07:00

Although Fish & Game staff do get out in the field checking licences, running junior fishing days, counting spawning trout and salmon, and monitoring game bird population there is also a fair amount of office work to do.

Tuesday, October 28, 2014 - 09:00

Reports from anglers around the region have been positive about fish number in back country rivers.

Friday, September 26, 2014 - 09:45

Hundreds of salmon and rainbow trout just for the kids to catch!

Wednesday, September 24, 2014 - 08:30

We are lucky in the West Coast region to have a plenty of freshwater open for sports fishing all year round.

Monday, June 16, 2014 - 08:45

The 21st and 22nd of June are now locked in for the second opening or shortest weekend duck hunt.

Monday, May 26, 2014 - 16:00

Check your South Island regulation guide to see what waters are open all year, then wrap up warm, and give it a go.

Tuesday, May 20, 2014 - 09:15

It was a perfect start to the season weather wise. A bit of drizzle on daylight then a fine morning thereafter kept the birds in circulation throughout Saturday morning.

Tuesday, April 22, 2014 - 09:00

Wednesday April 30 mark both the last day of the summer sports fishing season and the salmon season for 2014. It is fair to say the 2013-2014 summer was favourable for sports fishing on the West Coast.

Monday, April 14, 2014 - 09:45

Welcome West Coast hunters to another game bird season. As always the West Coast provides ample hunting opportunities for those willing to put in the effort.

Tuesday, March 25, 2014 - 14:45

It has turned out to be a good season so far for salmon on the Coast. Although the last day of March marks the end of the salmon season on Lakes; Mapourika, Paringa and Moeraki the rest of the West Coast Region waters are open until the end of April – for more details see the South Island Fishing Regulations.

Pages